Vankleek Hill Fire Station presents service awards to seven members

The Champlain Fire Department presented its annual Service Awards to firefighters at the Vankleek Hill Station on Wednesday, October 6.

Vankleek Hill Station Chief Michel Martin and Champlain Fire Services Chief Ghislain Pigeon presented plaques to seven members of the department, whose service ranged from 10 to 43 years.

Among the honorees was Captain Ernest Roebuck, who retired last summer after 43 years with the department. Honored for 30 years of service were Captain Louis Turcotte, Captain Mark Henderson, and Deputy Station Chief Jeffrey Carkner. Captain Kevin Bernique was presented a plaque for his 20 years of service, while firefighters Michael Courtemanche and Eric Dewar were honored for 10 years of service with the department.

The Champlain Fire Department honored seven members of the Vankleek Hill Station last week for their longtime service to the department. Left to right are Vankleek Hill Station Chief Michel Martin; Captain Ernest Roebuck (retired) 43 years; Captain Louis Turcotte 30 years; Captain Kevin Bernique, 20 years; Captain Mark Henderson, 30 years; and Champlain Fire Services Chief Ghislain Pigeon. Missing are Deputy Station Chief Jeffrey Carkner, 30 years; Firefighter Michael Courtemanche, 10 years; and Firefighter Eric Dewar, 10 years. Photo Reid Masson

Reid Masson

Reid Masson is a graduate of Algonquin College's Journalism Program. He has over 20 years of experience as a staff writer and editor for various newspapers across Canada, including The Ottawa Citizen and Brockville Recorder and Times.

1972apex has 437 posts and counting.See all posts by 1972apex

Leave a Reply