It’s inaugural meeting season for municipalities across Prescott and Russell and Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry (SD & G).

New municipal councils were elected on October 24 and will serve a four-year term until the next election in 2026. Inaugural meetings at both the municipal and county level began last week and continue until the end of November.

On November 10, the new East Hawkesbury Township Council was sworn in at the council chamber in St-Eugène.

Inaugural meetings for the formal swearing in of new councils were scheduled for November 15 in Champlain Township, North Glengarry, Casselman, and Clarence-Rockland.

On Thursday, November 17, the new council for the Town of Hawkesbury will be sworn in at a public, inaugural meeting taking place at 7 p.m. at the Robert Hartley Sports Complex.

Two Prescott-Russell municipalities, La Nation and Russell Township, will be holding inaugural meetings for their new councils on November 21.

As of publication time, no date had been announced for the inaugural meeting for the new council in Alfred and Plantagenet.

The 2023 UCPR Warden will be selected from among the mayors. An inaugural meeting for the swearing in of the 2023 warden and 2022 to 2026 UCPR Council will take place at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, November 23 at 7 p.m. in the council chambers at the UCPR Administration Building located at 59 Court Street in L’Orignal.

In SD & G, counties council will elect the 2023 Warden on November 21 and an inaugural meeting where the new warden will be formally sworn in is scheduled for December 2.