The United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR) would like to remind the public to nominate candidates for the Prescott and Russell JP St. Pierre Award, up until the deadline of October 22, 2018. The recipient will be announced during the UCPR Warden’s Banquet on Saturday, November 17 in St-Isidore.

The JP St. Pierre Award is bestowed upon deserving individuals residing in the UCPR, and was created in 2015 in memory of Mayor Jean Paul St. Pierre, who was serving as Mayor of the Township of Russell and Warden of the UCPR before passing away suddenly in 2014.

This high municipal distinction aims to celebrate the exceptional contributions of individuals in the many areas of life within the UCPR, including arts and culture, business and professions, charitable work, health, education, public service, media and communications, sports, agriculture, the environment, or other areas contributing to the well-being of the UCPR’s citizens. A maximum of two awards are presented on an annual basis, during the annual UCPR Warden’s Banquet, and are bestowed by Jocelyn St. Pierre, widow of the late Mr. St. Pierre.

A resident of the Village of Russell for more than 40 years, Jean Paul St. Pierre had also previously held the positions of municipal councillor as well as Trustee for the Village of Russell Police. In 2014, in addition to his role as the Mayor of Russell, he also served as Chair of the Eastern Ontario Wardens’ Caucus (EOWC).

Any resident of the UCPR who, as part of their professional duties or otherwise has made a significant contribution to the community, is eligible for this award. To download the nomination form or more information, residents may visit the UCPR’s website, telephone 613-675-4661, extension 2002, or send an e-mail to [email protected].