Four paramedics from the Emergency Services of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR) were recently honoured for their exemplary service during the Ontario Paramedic Association of Chiefs (OAPC) Gala in Ottawa.

Paramedics Éric Larocque, Yves Larivière, Mario Périard and Lise Laporte were each decorated with the Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal of the Governor General of Canada during the ceremony held on September 28, 2017.

“I am extremely proud of our team of paramedics, as well as their hard work and their dedication to the residents of Prescott and Russell – and as much those who were recognized by the OAPC as all the men and women who serve with pride and passion,” stated Michel Chrétien, Emergency Services Director for the UCPR.

Created on July 7, 1994, the Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal recognizes professionals who, in the provision of pre-hospital emergency medical services to the public, have performed their duties in an exemplary manner, one characterized by good conduct. Recipients must have completed 20 years of exemplary service, including 10 years in the performance of duties involving potential risk.

“The regional Council members and the municipalities they represent are consistently impressed with the level of service and the tenacity of our paramedics, notably in the context of our vast, rural territory,” stated Gary J. Barton, Warden of the UCPR. “These paramedics are exceptionally deserving of this national honour.”