Redistribution of Electoral District
Did you know that you, as a North Glengarry resident,
vote federally and provincially
in the Glengarry-Prescott-Russell electoral district
but that North Glengarry is a
lower tier municipality under the
United Counties of Stormont, Dundas and Glengarry?

North Glengarry is initiating a public consultation with its residents on the potential desire to pursue the redistribution of the North Glengarry electoral district from the Glengarry-Prescott-Russell electoral district to the Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry electoral district. Electoral district boundaries are set at the Federal level and are then adopted through the Province of Ontario’s Representation Act. The boundaries are identical for both the Federal and Provincial elections.

The reasoning is that North Glengarry’s interests might be better served if it could be included in the Stormont-Dundas-South Glengarry electoral district, aligning it naturally within the boundaries of the United Counties of SDG and its opportunities for development and growth.

We invite the public to view the Township’s “Redistribution of Electoral District” webpage which contains an information report on the redistribution process, the timelines, and the reasons the municipality may want to pursue the redistribution. Visit

In addition, a short survey is available to collect your responses at

Paper copies of the survey are available by contacting 613-525-1110 x 352. Responses can also be emailed to [email protected]

Thanks to your input, a report will be submitted to Council with the information collected from the public.

Township of North Glengarry
3720 County Road 34/ 3720 Route de comté 34
Alexandria ON K0C 1A0
[email protected]