Jean Paul St. Pierre, October 2018

UCPR seeking nominations for the J.P. St. Pierre award

For the seventh consecutive year, the United Counties of Prescott and Russell (UCPR) is inviting the public to submit nominations for the J.P. St. Pierre Award before October 31, 2021.

The J.P. St. Pierre Award was initiated in 2015 in memory of Mr. Jean Paul St. Pierre, who served as Mayor of the Township of Russell and Warden of the UCPR, before passing away suddenly in 2014. The award is bestowed upon deserving residents of the UCPR.

“We are so grateful for Mr. St. Pierre’s involvement and actions in our community,” explained Stéphane Sarrazin, Warden of the UCPR. “Through his caring personality, his sense of duty, and his dedication, he was able to share his passion for our community with many of us.”

This high municipal distinction aims to celebrate the exceptional contributions of individuals in many areas of life within the UCPR, including arts and culture, business and professions, charitable work, health, education, public service, media and communications, sports, agriculture, the environment, or other areas contributing to the well-being of the region’s citizens. A maximum of two awards are presented during the annual UCPR Warden’s Banquet.

A resident of the Village of Russell for more than 40 years, Jean Paul St. Pierre had previously held positions of Municipal Councillor as well as Trustee for the Village of Russell Police Service. In 2014, in addition to his role as Mayor of the Township of Russell, he also served as Chair of the Eastern Ontario Warden’s Caucus (EOWC).

Any resident of the UCPR who, as part of their professional duties or otherwise, has made a significant contribution to the community, is eligible for this prestigious award. To submit a nomination or for more information, residents may visit the UCPR’s website, contact Olivier Berthiaume by phone at 613 675-4661, or send an e-mail to [email protected].