What’s old is new again in the Township of Alfred and Plantagenet, as incumbent mayor Yves Laviolette was returned to the position on Monday evening (October 24) – only this time through election.

Laviolette, who was elected as a councillor in 2018, was appointed mayor in July of 2022, after former mayor Stephane Sarrazin was elected to the Ontario legislature. He beat out three fellow Alfred and Plantagenet councillors – Marc Prud’homme, Chantal Galipeau, and René Beaulne – to retain the position.

“I’m very happy because I ran a good campaign and I visited a lot of houses – I just wanted to feel the pulse of my constituents,” Laviolette said shortly after his win was announced. “Whoever was elected, I was going to be pleased with my campaign and that’s the most important thing.”

Laviolette’s career experience is in the commercial real estate, sales, and construction industry. A resident of Lefaivre, he also served as a reeve of the former Township of Alfred and Warden of the United Counties of Prescott and Russell. During the campaign, Laviolette highlighted the economic development potential of the municipality, particularly along the Highway 17 corridor. He also said libraries would be left open if he was elected mayor.

“I didn’t make any promises, but I promised that I would do my best,” Laviolette said Monday evening.

Incumbent councillors Antoni Viau and Ian Walker were re-elected to La Nation council in Ward 2.

In Ward 1, which includes the village and former township of Alfred, Jean-Pierre Cadieux and Benoit Lamarche were each acclaimed when nominations closed on August 19, as were the French Public, English Public, and English Catholic School Board Trustees.

For the position of School Board Trustee for the Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l’Est ontarien (CSDCEO), Louise Lalonde defeated incumbent Roger Chartrand.