Hawkesbury 2018 municipal elections – official candidate round-up

The deadline for the upcoming October 22, 2018 municipal election nominations has come and gone.

All eyes will be on the town’s mayoralty race. The Town of Hawkesbury has three candidates for mayor: Paula Assaly (registered May 1), Gilbert Cyr (registered July 13) and current mayor Jeanne Charlebois (registered July 14).

A total of 15 candidates are running to fill six council seats.

Here is a list of all candidates, in order of registration (earliest to latest): Yves Paquette, André Chamaillard, Pierre Ouellet, Raymond Campbell, Marie Valérie, Carole Ghislaine Ladouceur, Grace Batista, Félix Blackburn, Lawrence Bogue, Karen Mingarelli, Antonios Tsourounakis, André Pilon, Bonnie Jean-Louis, Robert Lefebvre and Nathalie Ladouceur.

As for school board trustees, each of Eastern Ontario’s four school boards has one person in the running, elected by acclamation. Conseil scolaire de district catholique de l’Est ontarien (CSDCEO), André-Paul Lalonde is the registered candidate. For Conseil scolaire publique de l’Est de l’Ontario (CEPEO), Gilles Fournier. For Catholic District School Board of Eastern Ontario (CDSBEO), Sue Wilson. Finally, for Upper Canada District School Board, Corina Parisien.

The Town of Hawkesbury’s website states that “As for the last four elections, electors will have to vote by phone or by Internet”. Voting will be overseen by Intellivote, a Canadian company.

The Town of Hawkesbury invites everyone to visit the town’s website (hawkesbury.ca) regularly throughout the elections, as information will be made available periodically.

The Review presents…Vankleek Hill Summer of Fun!

Great things happen for members of The Review!

Weekly prize draws for our members every Thursday during the month of July!

Use code SUMMERFUNVKH for $10 off your new one-year subscription or renewal!

Join today! Offer expires July 31st, 2019.

There are many ways to subscribe. CLICK HERE to subscribe online (be sure to enter promo code SUMMERFUNVKH). Send an email to [email protected], or call Irene at 1-877-678-3327 ext. 1002. We look forward to hearing from you!

Thank you for supporting local, independent community journalism!



Cart Item Removed. Undo
  • No products in the cart.